Friday, 11 September 2015

Book review: I Need a Hero - Emma Bennet

 


A lovely summer romance read that you won’t want to put down 
Romance writer Bronte Huntington has vowed she will never settle for anything less than ‘the one.’ When pleasant red-haired dentist Ryan moves in next door he just doesn't fit the bill. They have plenty in common but Bronte wants nothing more than friendship with him. 

Then it looks like Bronte’s dreams have finally come true when dashing Sebastian Fairfax rescues her on his horse after she has an accident in the countryside around her idyllic little cottage. Sebastian is tall, dark, handsome, and heir to a massive country estate! 

But is Sebastian the one? Or will Bronte’s romantic dreams of the perfect hero turn out to be as fictional as her novels? And will Bronte's temperamental cat ever stop getting in the way?! 

Perfect for fans of Samantha Tonge, Lucy Diamond, Mandy Baggot and Catherine Ferguson 


My opinion.
First things first: with a cover like that, who wouldn't want to read this book? Maybe the title can be read as "neen" instead of "need", but apart from that? It's eye-catching, colourful, fun and it already gives the hint of the fairy tale theme that's prominent throughout the book.
Not that you should take the fairy tale theme literally. I Need A Hero is a fun, contemporary romance with a wonderful heroine, struggling to find the balance between finding "prince charming" and "mister right". Is the man of her dreams truly the man she wants to be with? Or maybe reality is even better than fantasy? Will it be Hugh Grant or Collin Firth, for Bridget Jones?
Bronte is fun and witty and the story itself is at times simply hilarious. The perfect romantic comedy. I had a great time reading this book. It's romantic and uplifting and it had me laughing out loud.  


 





No comments:

Post a Comment